Do Cigarettes Contain an Chametz or Chametz Derivatives?

Question: Are cigarettes kosher
In Israel everybody smoking, so I guess it is okay. Never heard any cigarette that is not kosher.
Ask a rabbi to be 100% sure.

The question that you need to ask yourself is: Are cigarettes kosher all year around given their danger to life (sakanat nefashot)?

Question: Are cigarettes kosher for Passover?
The kashrut of tobacco has been a subject of discussion amongst poskim throughout the generations. For example, the Chayei Adam (127:3) cautioned against using snuff tobacco that was known to contain yayin nesech as an additive. The kashrus of tobacco, and cigarettes, during Pesach is a topic that has been heavily discussed in halachic literature. The Magen Avraham in Hilchot Pesach (467:8:10) prohibited using tobacco during Pesach, which was known to have been soaked in beer beforehand. The basis of the Magen Avraham’s stringent position seems to be the prohibition of deriving benefit from chametz, even if not eaten. However, not everyone agreed with the Magen Avraham’s conclusion. The Beis Meir in his commentary on Shulchan Aruch contended that since tobacco and its components are wholly inedible before Pesach, it should be permitted on the basis that it is nifsal meachilas kelev (“not fit for a dog”. See Pesachim 45b) and no longer considered chametz. Similar arguments were also made by Rav Chaim Sanzer in Divrei Chaim (Yoreh Deah 20) and Rav Shlomo Kluger in Tuv Ta’am VeDa’as (3:1:131), who disagreed with the Magen Avraham. However, the Beis Meir also wrote that since fumes from tobacco are ingested through one’s mouth while smoking, it might be comparable to shesiya (drinking), and suggests that perhaps as a chumra people should refrain from smoking during Pesach. The Magen Avraham’s opinion was accepted by the Maharam Schick (Orach Chaim 242), who suggested that the beer additive regains its chametz status once it is smoked (see the Rosh’s commentary at the beginning of the third perek of Pesachim), and is also quoted by the Mishnah Brurah (467:33). However, the Mishnah Berurah writes that since manufacturing processes can change over time, they should be investigated and confirmed. The Aruch HaShulchan (Orach Chaim 467:17) for example, also quotes the Magen Avraham, but noted that the process of soaking tobacco in beer has ceased, and nowadays assumes that it is permissible to smoke during Pesach. Nowadays, cigarettes primarily consist of tobacco, paper, synthetic glue, and a fiber based filter that is derived from tree pulp. The Magen Avraham’s concern about tobacco soaked in beer no longer applies. However, other materials can be added to a cigarette. For example, although the filler of a cigarette rod is principally tobacco, there are instances when a small amount of puffed grains, such as rye or barley, could be mixed in. Moreover, humectants are added to the cigarette to maintain moisture, as well as flavors. Flavors are especially complicated [Read the full article]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *